Neal Driscoll
Professor of Geosciences
Geosciences Research Division

Neal Driscoll is a professor of geosciences in the Geosciences Research Division at Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego.

Driscoll’s primary interest is in tectonic deformation and the evolution of landscapes and seascapes. His work primarily focuses on the sediment record to understand the processes that shaped the earth. Simply stated, stratigraphy is the tape recorder of Earth’s history. Nevertheless, the fidelity with which stratigraphy records the dynamic processes of sediment erosion, transport, accumulation, and preservation is still incompletely understood. Although these processes can be examined from many perspectives, Driscoll’s research has focused on unconformity generation and stratigraphic development in tectonically active settings and sediment input and dispersal in evolving sedimentary basins and along continental margins.

Driscoll spends three to four months a year at sea acquiring images of the seafloor and subsurface layers to understand the processes that shape Earth.

Driscoll attended the University of New Hampshire in Durham, where he received a BS in geology. He worked at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI) as a research assistant. He received a master’s of science from the Graduate School of Oceanography at the University of Rhode Island, and a master’s in philosophy and a PhD from Columbia University.

Prior to joining Scripps, Driscoll was the Storke-Doherty Lecturer at the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, where he received the Heezen Award and the Storke Award for excellence in research. He was also previously an associate scientist WHOI.

He was awarded the Office of Naval Research’s Young Investigator Award and the Cecil and Ida Green Technology Award. Driscoll was the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s Distinguished Crosby Lecturer. He was chosen by Scripps students as the inaugural winner of the institution’s Undergraduate Teaching Award.

Last updated May 2004